For Immediate Release Date 04/04/2014







Students, Teachers and State Leaders Team Up for Third Annual North Carolina Capitol Challenge of the Stock Market Game™

The North Carolina Council on Economic Education (NCCEE) today announced its third annual "Capitol Challenge." Student teams throughout the state have been paired with NC General Assembly members and North Carolina Treasurer, Janet Cowell, to compete with their peers for portfolio growth in the NC Capitol Challenge of the Stock Market Game™.

The Stock Market Game[™] effectively utilizes technology and portfolio simulation to improve understanding of math concepts and enhance students' understanding of economics and personal finance concepts. This year's edition of the Capitol Challenge provides state leaders an opportunity to engage in student learning while serving as role models. Currently State Treasurer, Janet Cowell and 62 general assembly members are involved in the program, championing 654 teams, about 1,650 students; and this number is growing!

The NC Capitol Challenge is supported by State Farm, TIAA-CREF, and Fidelity Investments.

Participating School, County, Teacher, and State Leader Champion:

School Name	County	Teacher	Legislative Member
J. M. Alexander Middle School	Mecklenburg	Marion Anthony-Jordan	Senator Jeff Tarte
Wake Forest-Rolesville High	Wake	Brad Baker	Representative Marilyn Avila
Rolesville Elementary	Wake	Jennifer Barbour	Representative Chris Malone
Brevard Middle	Transylvania	Yvonne Barnwell	Representative Chris Whitmire
Clayton Middle	Johnston	Michael Butler	Representative N. Leo Daughtry
West Forsyth High	Forsyth	Elizabeth Byrd	Representative Julia Howard
Brawley Middle	Iredell	Melissa Calloway	Representative Robert Brawley
Haw Creek Elementary	Buncombe	Sarah Camby	Representative Susan Fisher
Smyrna Elementary	Carteret	Jan Carlisto	Senator Norman Sanderson
Harkers Island Elementary	Carteret	Jan Carlisto	Senator Norman Sanderson
Morehead Elem At Camp Glenn	Carteret	Jan Carlisto	Senator Norman Sanderson
West Charlotte High	Mecklenburg	Brenda Cofield	Representative Kelly Alexander, Jr
Southern Nash High School	Nash	John Coulter	Senator E.S. (Buck) Newton
C And L Mcdougle Mid	Orange	John Cowan	Representative Verla Insko
Dare Co Alternative High	Dare	Kevin Cox	Representative Paul Tine
Timber Drive Elementary	Wake	Jason Daniels	Representative Darren Jackson
East Forsyth Middle Archdale-Trinity Middle Northwest Cabarrus Middle	Forsyth Randolph Cabarrus	Dana DeHart Jandra Dillon Dillon Donna Jones Stove Dunggan	Representative Donny Lambeth Representative Pat Hurley Senator Fletcher Hartsell, Jr.
Concord High	Cabarrus	Steve Dunagan	Representative Linda P. Johnson

Carmel Middle **Charlotte Latin School** C E Jordan High Creekside Elementary School Albert H Bangert Elementary Southwest Elementary John A Holmes High Ferguson-Easley Elementary School **Chocowinity Middle** White Oak Elementary North Henderson High Gravelly Hill Middle Franklinton High Wayne School of Engineering **Union Academy-Upper Campus** Union Academy-Lower Campus **Broughton High School** WG Pearson Elementary South Johnston High West Iredell High **Bailey Middle**

Seagrove Elementary Charles W Mccrary Elementary Moncure Elementary Horton Middle Eastern Randolph High School Davie High East Columbus High Winston-Salem Preparatory Academy Lincoln Charter School - Denver Campus Overhills High School Paisley Middle

West Forsyth High Camp Lejeune High School North Wilkes Middle Wake Forest-Rolesville High Tabernacle Elementary West Wilkes High South Brunswick High Mary Sidberry Mosley Plc North Buncombe Middle Stonewall Jackson School Mary C Williams Elementary Sedgefield Middle William G. Enloe High

Hillside High School

Mecklenburg Mecklenburg Durham Craven Craven Davidson Chowan Cumberland Beaufort Carteret Henderson Orange Franklin Wayne Union Union Wake Durham Johnston Iredell

Randolph Randolph Chatham Chatham Randolph Davie Columbus Forsyth Lincoln Harnett Forsyth

Mecklenburg

Forsyth Onslow Wilkes Wake Burlington Wilkes Brunswick New Hanover Buncombe Cabarrus New Hanover Mecklenburg Wake Erinn Edwards **Gregory Fletcher** Sam Furlow Caroline Godwin **Caroline Godwin** Monica Griffin Thomas Grimes Carianne McClellan Paige Hill Jill Hooley Tracy Horne Joanne Jeffries Gloria Kearnev Jesse Pittard Kimberly Kirk Kimberly Kirk **Kimberly Knox Kimberly Knox** Karen Lambert Wendy Layne Teresa Lester Heather Marsh Joel McClosky Tracy Miller Tracy Miller Lane Moore Paula Ororke LaTanya Pattillo **Phyllis Penn**

Eric Puryear Jeff Rickert Patricia Robblee Lisa Shumate William Sullivan Emily Tyndall George Visnic Terry Walker Keith Walter Kristen Wells Elliott Willingham Tiffany Wuzzardo Pamela Harris Kimberly Knox

Jennifer Perry

Joyce Pevler

Representative Ruth Samuelson Senator Bob Rucho Senator Mike Woodard **Representative Michael Speciale** Representative John Bell **Representative Rayne Brown** Representative Bob Steinburg Treasurer Cowell Senator Bill Cook **Representative Pat McElraft** Representative Nathan Baskerville **Representative Graig Meyer** Representative Bobbie Richardson Treasurer Cowell Representative D. Craig Horn Representative Dean Arp Representative Grier Martin Representative Larry Hall Representative James Langdon, Jr Representative Rena Turner **Representative Thom Tillis** Treasurer Cowell Representative Allen McNeill **Representative Pat Hurley** Senator Valerie Foushee Representative Robert Reives, II Senator Rick Gunn Senator Andrew Brock **Representative Ken Waddell** Representative Edward Hanes, Jr **Representative Jason Saine Representative David Lewis** Representative Edward Hanes **Treasurer Cowell** Senator Joyce Krawiec **Representative Phil Shepard** Representative Jeffrey Elmore Senator Neal Hunt Senator Jerry Tillman Senator Shirley Randleman **Representative Frank Iler** Representative Susan Hamilton **Representative Nathan Ramsey Representative Larry Pittman** Representative Ted Davis, Jr **Representative Rob Bryan** Representative Yvonne Holley Treasurer Cowell

Treasurer Cowell

Wake

Darian Harris

About the SIFMA Foundation Stock Market Game

SIFMA Foundation's Stock Market Game is a curriculum-based program where student teams in grades 4-12 learn long-term saving and investing fundamentals by using a hypothetical brokerage account. The program serves 20,000 teachers and 700,000 students annually. Teachers receive grade-level specific curriculum guides, lesson plans and newsletters to incorporate the program into their core mathematics, social studies, business, economics and language arts programs. For more on the Stock Market Game please visit: www.stockmarketgame.org.

About the North Carolina Council on Economic Education

The North Carolina Council on Economic Education was founded in 1970. NCCEE is a 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization working with K-12 teachers statewide to give our students a better understanding of economics and to prepare them for personal financial decision-making. With support from private businesses and foundations, the Department of Public Instruction, and the University of North Carolina system, NCCEE has been a tremendous example of an effective public-private partnership. More information on the NCCEE is available at <u>www.nccee.org</u>.

For more information please contact: Sandy Wheat North Carolina Council on Economic Education 809 Spring Forest Road Suite 900 Raleigh, NC 27609 866-606-2233

###